top of page

Zürich, Switzerland

Switzerland did not disappoint. My trip to Zurich this weekend was more relaxed than most as I did not know much about it before going there. We went with open eyes and opportunities, willing to do whatever came in our path. With midterms coming up, it was also a shorter trip than most but the views and adventures were just enough to satisfy my weekend travel itch. Zürich was more modernized than past cities but art was still found on almost every block.

As we were walking towards Lake Zürich to take in the amazing views of the Swiss Alps, I came across this sculpture just plopped in the middle of the sidewalk. I always love finding the off-the-beaten-path artwork as not as many people really know about it. This here on the left is two men dressed in business wear in what appears to be confident stances. The metal men, as I like to call them, could be doing some sort of presentation in front of important bosses or another company. Upon more consideration, I believe that this type of sculpture was intentional as Zürich is often seen as a global center for banking and finance. In a way, this piece is marketing the city of Zürich and a factor that draws many people to come visit this wonderful city.

Another cool find I made while on our walk to the Lake were these wooden masks. There was a farmer's marketing going on by the water so my friends and I took the time to browse through and compare it to other ones we've seen in Europe and back home in America. This one didn't have as much food as past ones but we made some really cool finds as well. I am not entirely sure what type of wood these masks are made out of but upon touching them, they had a smooth surface regardless of the coloring. The creator must have used some sort of shading/scratching technique to get the color of the wood to change. I think it was their way of creating the illusion of facial features on the mask. Its cool to think that a few different shading choices and an entirely new facial expression is created. I love brown and white together and it gives the masks this kind of rustic feel to them.

While strolling through Zürich I came upon this gorgeous church. I did not get the chance to get closer as we were walking towards the train station to head home, but I was able to distinguish a few key characteristics found in Gothic style churches. This building has two steeples in the front, similar to the famous gothic style Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris. The arches in the windows also showcase the gothic style present. I love being able to see the different gothic churches in every country I travel too. Its interesting to see that this style is evident all over and the effect it had to be built in so many places.

As we approached the train station, I came upon another interesting statue. This one is a memorial of Alfred Escher, a Swiss politician, business leader, and railways pioneer from the 19th century, by Richard Kissling. His location in front of the train station was obviously intentional but I think its thought-provoking to have this man fixed here. No one ever stops and thinks about why a statue is there and pass it without giving it the time of day. Having a railways pioneer situated where people use the product he endorsed most is extremely smart. You learn something new every day if you just stop and admire what you walk by. This statue was eloquently detailed to showcase this influential man. When it was originally built, it was made out of copper but over the years the natural seasons have caused it to become this green color today.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page